Album News, Tracklist — September 1, 2010 at 9:33 pm

Crowded House to release ‘The Very Very Best Of’ in CD, expanded digital formats

'The Very Very Best of Crowded House'

Double shot of Crowded House today: Not only did we bring you the band’s new video for “Either Side of the World,” but this evening we learned that Capitol/EMI will release The Very Very Best of Crowded House, a new greatest-hits package, on Oct. 26 as both a 19-track CD and download and as an expanded 32-track digital-only collection.

The new set covers the band’s 1986 self-titled debut through 2007’s reunion album Time On Earth, but stops short of including anything off of this summer’s Intriguer (see full tracklist below). The fuller digital-only edition touches on the Crowdies’ first five albums fairly equally and wraps up with a live cover of Hunters and Collectors’ “Throw Your Arms Around Me” that was recorded in 1987 — and previously available as a B-side to 1993’s “Distant Sun.”

See tracklist for ‘The Very Very Best of Crowded House’ after the jump…

Tracklist: Crowded House, The Very Very Best Of Crowded House

1. “Something So Strong”
2. “Weather With You”
3. “It’s Only Natural”
4. “Chocolate Cake”
5. “Fall At Your Feet”
6. “Distant Sun”
7. “Better Be Home Soon”
8. “Four Seasons In One Day”
9. “Don’t Dream It’s Over”
10. “Mean To Me”
11. “Locked out”
12. “Don’t Stop Now”
13. “Pineapple Head”
14. “Instinct”
15. “Fingers Of Love”
16. “Private Universe”
17. “Not The Girl You Think You Are”
18. “Nails In My Feet”
19. “Pour Le Monde”

1. “Now We’re Getting Somewhere”
2. “World Where You Live”
3. “Weather With You”
4. “Something So Strong”
5. “When You Come”
6. “Fingers Of Love”
7. “Four Seasons In One Day”
8. “Distant Sun”
9. “Don’t Stop Now”
10. “Sister Madly”
11. “Chocolate Cake”
12. “Locked Out”
13. “Never Be The Same”
14. “Hole In The River”
15. “Not The Girl You Think You Are”
16. “Better Be Home Soon”
17. “Mean To Me”
18. “It’s Only Natural”
19. “Fall At Your Feet”
20. “Recurring Dream”
21. “Private Universe”
22. “Pineapple Head”
23. “She Called Up”
24. “I Feel Possessed”
25. “Instinct”
26. “Everything Is Good For You”
27. “Into Temptation”
28. “Nails In My Feet”
29. “Don’t Dream It’s Over”
30. “Pour Le Monde”
31. “Whispers And Moans”
32. “Throw Your Arms Around Me” (Live from The Roxy, Los Angeles, Feb. 26, 1987)



  1. Another cynical re-hash by EMI. The previous best of with 2 or 3 tracks changed. The artwork is not by Nick Seymour either.

  2. Gavin Hancock

    EMI throwing desperation around yet again and in time for Christmas, surprise surprise!

  3. This would be news if they released it on vinyl. As it is, there are only five substitutions (“Chocolate Cake,” “Don’t Stop Now,” “Fingers of Love,” “Nails In My Feet,” and “Pour le Monde” for “World Where You Live,” “Into Temptation,” “When You Come,” “I Feel Possessed,” and “Not the Girl You Think You Are”). Iffy substitutions at best. To be fair, all of these songs are on the digital version, but why couldn’t they have had a double CD and a vinyl boxed set? I’m sure I’m not the only one who would buy it.

  4. i really agree with you, i would buy it in vinyl too!
    let’s hope for it.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *