The Light featuring Rowetta, '1102/2011'

A four-song EP of Joy Division re-recordings — including a newly completed Ian Curtis-era castoff — that Peter Hook had planned to release this week has been delayed by unspecified legal issues, the bassist said today in an announcement that suggests the release may never see the light of day.

The 1102/2011 EP — credited to Hook’s band The Light, featuring Rowetta — was set for release Monday in the U.K. via Hacienda Records. The label today announced on its blog an indefinite delay in the EP’s release, writing, rather ominously, “We are hoping that these matters will be temporary, not permanent, and will be resolved soon.”

It’s not known whether the legal snag involves Bernard Sumner and Stephen Morris, the other two surviving members of Joy Division who formed New Order with Hook following Curtis’ suicide and still play together in Bad Lieutenant. A Hook representative declined to comment further when contacted by Slicing Up Eyeballs today.

The EP, featuring the final cover art shown above, features new re-recordings of classic Joy Division tracks “Atmosphere,” “New Dawn Fades” and “Insight” with Rowetta, a onetime Happy Mondays singer, on vocals. The fourth track is “Pictures in My Mind,” an incomplete Joy Division song that Hook finished and sings on the EP.

Last week, Hook released music videos for “Pictures in My Mind” and “Atmosphere” in advance of the EP, which Hook dedicates, in the sleevenotes, to Ronan “Rex” Sargeant — a musician and producer who worked with Joy Division, New Order and many others — who committed suicide in December.


iTunes, App Store and Mac App Store


Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,