New releases: Icehouse best-of, Ministry’s ‘Psalm 69’ on vinyl, Freeez reissue

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.


ARTIST : Icehouse
RELEASE: White Heat: 30 Hits
BACKSTORY: The Australian synth/rock act — best remembered in the U.S. for their 1987 hit “Electric Blue,” co-written by John Oates — has released a comprehensive best-of which, over two CDs, will chronologically present each of the band’s 30 singles, and also will include a DVD with all 32 of its music videos. (See tracklist here.)


ARTIST : Ministry
BACKSTORY: Rhino Records has reissued the fifth studio album — more commonly called Psalm 69: The Way to Succeed and the Way to Suck Eggs — from the Chicago-based industrial powerhouse. The record features the singles “N.W.O.,” “Just One Fix” and “Jesus Built My Hotrod,” the latter of which features the Butthole Surfers’ Gibby Haynes.
BUY: (Vinyl)


ARTIST : Freeez
RELEASE: Gonna Get You: Expanded Edition
BACKSTORY: Cherry Red’s SFE imprint releases, for the first time on CD, the second album from the U.K. electro/jazz-funk group. The Arthur Baker-produced album featured the dance hit “I.O.U.,” and the reissue comes with a second CD featuring remixes, single versions and other bonus tracks.





Tags: , , , , ,


About the author

More posts by | Visit the site of Slicing Up Eyeballs


1 Comment



Add a comment