Album News, Tracklist — October 11, 2011 at 6:32 am

Robyn Hitchcock to release digital-only ‘Chronolology’ best-of collection

Yep Roc Records this month will release Chronolology, a 16-track, hand-picked, digital-only greatest-hits set from Robyn Hitchcock that’s being marketed by the label as the artist’s first-ever best-of — even though he’s been treated to at least three such compilations, all released during the mid-1990s.

The set includes tracks from Hitchcock’s time with The Soft Boys and as leader of The Egyptians and The Venus 3, including his modern-rock radio hits “Balloon Man,” “Madonna of the Wasps” and “So You Think You’re In Love.” The comp will be released Oct. 25 via digital outlets.

In Yep Roc’s announcement of the collection, Hitchcock says:

“There’s never been a ‘best of me’ before; this is specifically corralled together for the Internet, which is currently the dominant medium, just as vinyl was 40 years ago. … The songs are a series of dots which, if you join them together, make a continuous line: like stations on the London Underground. So Piccadilly Circus is ‘Madonna Of The Wasps’ and Hammersmith is ‘I Feel Beautiful.’ Which means King’s Cross is ‘I Wanna Destroy You.’ Chronolology is an attempt to collect my work so far, in its most straightforward form, and make it available in one place.”

Although Chronolology is being touted as Hitchcock’s first best-of, at least three already exist: 1995’s Robyn Hitchcock, which compiled his ’80s catalog; 1996’s Greatest Hits, featuring his work with The Egyptians on A&M Records; and 1997’s Uncorrected Personality Traits, a Rhino Records title that compiled his pre-A&M work. Unlike those best-ofs, however, the new Chronolology will span Hitchcock’s career and not focus on specific, label-dictated periods.



Tracklist: Robyn Hitchcock, Chronolology 

1. “I Wanna Destroy You” (The Soft Boys)
2. “Kingdom of Love” (The Soft Boys)
3. “Only the Stones Remain” (The Soft Boys)
4. “The Man Who Invented Himself ” (Robyn Hitchcock)
5. “I Often Dream Of Trains” (Robyn Hitchcock)
6. “My Wife and My Dead Wife” (Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians)
7. “If You Were a Priest” (Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians)
8. “Balloon Man” (Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians)
9. “Madonna of the Wasps” (Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians)
10. “So You Think You’re in Love” (Robyn Hitchcock & The Egyptians)
11. “Queen Elvis” (Robyn Hitchcock)
12. “I Feel Beautiful” (Robyn Hitchcock)
13. “Mr. Kennedy” (The Soft Boys)
14. “Full Moon in My Soul” (Robyn Hitchcock)
15. “Adventure Rocket Ship” (Robyn Hitchcock & The Venus 3)
16. “Goodnight Oslo” (Robyn Hitchcock & The Venus 3)






  1. >Unlike those best-ofs, however, the new Chronolology will span Hitchcock’s career and not focus on specific, label-dictated periods.

    Exactly. I think Robin’s statement means this is the first best-of that he himself has selected, and is not constrained by some condition- all early stuff, all Egyptians stuff, etc. It sounds like it will be an excellent introduction to the man’s legendary body of work.

  2. Bwana Brian

    What? No “Underwater Moonlight”? No “Queen Of Eyes”? No “Egyptian Cream”? No “Alright, Yeah”?. No “Positive Vibrations”? No “Winchester Cathedral”?

    Better put a second 16 best-of compilation out then!!!!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *