Album News, Tracklist — February 23, 2012 at 8:50 am

The Primitives releasing ‘Echoes & Rhymes’ — a ‘concept covers album’ — in April

Reunited British indie-pop outfit The Primitives today announced the release of their first full-length record in 21 years, a 14-track “concept covers album” called Echoes and Rhymes that will “revisit songs from semi-obscure bands from the ’60s with women lead singers” in a variety of sonic styles.

The album is due out April 30 on the Elefant label on CD and a limited-edition, 1,000-copy run of vinyl, according to distributor Shellshock. The album, the band’s first since 1991’s Galore, features “psychedelia, distortion, soul, extravagances, sunshine pop and many more surprises,” according to the announcement.

Last summer, the Prims teased the record by releasing a video for their newly recorded cover of late-’60s obscurity “The Witch” by German duo Adam & Eve. Also last year, the band, which first reunited in 2009, released its first new music in 20 years, the four-track Never Kill a Secret EP (stream the title track here).


Tracklist: The Primitives, Echoes and Rhymes

1. “Panic”
2. “Turn Off The Moon”
3. “Move It On Over”
4. “Sunshine In My Rainy Day Mind”
5. “Till You Say You’ll Be Mine”
6. “I’m Not Sayin'”
7. “The Witch”
8. “I Surrender”
9. “Amoureux D’une Affiche”
10. “Where Will You Be?”
11. “Single Girl”
12. “Who Are You Trying To Fool?”
13. “Time Slips Away”
14. “Wild Flower”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *