Reissues — January 7, 2013 at 8:14 am

The Primitives’ ‘Everything’s Shining Bright’ to feature early singles, ‘lost’ album, live set

Reunited C86-era jangle-pop outfit The Primitives this spring will release Everything’s Shining Bright: The Lazy Recordings 1985-1987, a two-disc, 40-track set collecting the band’s early singles, a handful of demos, a 1987 live set and a “lost” album comprised of an aborted early session for the band’s 1988 debut Lovely.

Featuring 10 previously unreleased tracks, the compilation will be released at some point in March on Cherry Red Records, the band announced on Facebook today, and the tracks also “should be available for download for the first time, too.”

The set includes 15 songs culled from early singles released on the band’s own Lazy Records imprint and four demos from 1985, including an early take of the Prims’ 1988 hit “Crash,” on Disc 1. The second disc features seven previously unreleased early versions of songs that ended up on Lazy, a set the band on Twitter referred to as a “lost Primitives album (kinda),”

Rounding out Disc 2 is a 14-track live recording of the band’s 1987 gig at the ICA in London, at which Morrissey introduced the band on stage. That set, like much of the Lazy material, already was compiled on 2008’s Buzz Buzz Buzz: The Complete Lazy Recordings.

The Primitives reunited in 2009 and have since released an EP of new music and a covers album. Most recently, the group put out an original Christmas song.


Tracklist: The Primitives, Everything’s Shining Bright: The Lazy Recordings 1985-1987

CD 1
The Lazy Singles
1. “Thru The Flowers”
2. “Across My Shoulder”
3. “She Don’t Need You”
4. “Lazy”
5. “Really Stupid”
6. “We Found A Way To The Sun”
7. “Where The Wind Blows”
8. “Stop Killing Me”
9. “Buzz Buzz Buzz”
10. “Laughing Up My Sleeve”
11. “Ocean Blue”
12. “Shadow” (Guitar Version)
13. “Thru The Flowers” (New Version)
14. “Everything Shining Bright”
15. “Nothing Left”
Live 1985 Demos
16. “Across My Shoulder” *
17. “Crash” *
18. “Spacehead” *
19. “Nothing Left” (Sounds version)

CD 2
Everything Shining Bright – Unreleased 1987 Sessions
1. “I’ll Stick With You” *
2. “Dreamwalk Baby” *
3. “Buzz Buzz Buzz” *
4. “Nothing Left” *
5. “Out Of Reach” *
6. “Carry Me Home” *
7. “Don’t Want Anything To Change” *
Live At The ICA
8. “I’ll Stick With You”
9. “Dreamwalk Baby”
10. “Run Baby Run”
11. “Thru The Flowers”
12. “Nothing Left”
13. “Where The Wind Blows”
14. “Out Of Reach”
15. “We Found A Way To The Sun”
16. “Don’t Want Anything To Change”
17. “Across My Shoulder”
18. “Everything’s Shining Bright”
19. “Buzz Buzz Buzz”
20. “Stop Killing Me”
21. “I Wanna Be Your Dog”

* Previously unreleased






  1. How much overlap is there between this and Lazy 86-88, which has been out forever?(

  2. Jeff: It has all of 86-88, with two additional songs – Ocean Blue and Nothing Left…then of course this has all the demos, live stuff and sessions…

    • Thanks, Don. Given that I’m not usually into live recordings, I just wanted to get an idea if I should get the tracks individually (if they’ll be sold that way), or the whole set.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *