Reunions, Single News — January 30, 2013 at 10:02 pm

The Replacements’ ‘Songs For Slim’ EP out digitally March 5, on 12-inch April 16

After raising more than $100,000 through an auction of limited-edition, autographed 10-inches, The Replacements will release their Songs for Slim benefit/reunion EP to the masses beginning March 5, when the 5-song set will be sold digitally to be followed on April 16 by a commercial 12-inch pressing.

Organizers of the Songs For Slim fundraising project — which will raise money to pay the medical expenses of ex-Replacements guitarist Slim Dunlap, who suffered a debilitating stroke last year — tonight announced that the 250 copies of the ‘Mats EP sold at auction will ship to the winners in early March. The songs themselves will be delivered to radio on March 4.

As for the next releases in the series:

  • The February auction, set for Feb. 15-22, will feature Steve Earle performing Dunlap’s “Times Like This” backed by Craig Finn & Friends playing Dunlap’s “Isn’t It.”
  • The March auction will feature Lucinda Williams performing “Partners in Crime” backed by Tommy Keene’s recording of “Nowhere Near.” Auction dates haven’t been announced.

For full details of the project, visit


Tracklist: The Replacements, Songs for Slim

1. “Busted Up” (Slim Dunlap)
2. “Radio Hook Word Hit” (Slim Dunlap)

1. “I’m Not Saying” (Gordon Lightfoot)
2. “Lost Highway” (Leon Payne)
3. “Everything’s Coming Up Roses” (Stephen Sondheim/Julie Styne)





One Comment

  1. Scott Stalcup

    No one’s typed it? Okay fine. Leave it to Old Muggins: I can’t hardly wait.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *