Digital Music — April 2, 2013 at 8:27 am

Full-album stream: OMD, ‘English Electric’ — new album due out next week

OMD, 'English Electric'

Synthpop favorites Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark next week will release English Electric — their second post-reunion album and 12th studio set overall — and, as is increasingly the case these days, you can now listen to the full record in advance of its actual release. The 12-track album is now streaming via Pitchfork Advance, and you can hear it via the link below.

The album is OMD’s first since 2010′s History of Modern, which itself was OMD’s first new album since 1996’s Universal and its first with its classic lineup — original members McCluskey, Paul Humphreys, Martin Cooper and Malcolm Holmes — since 1986’s The Pacific Age.

STREAM: OMD, English Electric






  1. Helen Of Troy is the best.

  2. Jon Smith

    Really enjoying this.

  3. 2013 and OMD has the best record I’ve heard this year.

  4. Love the cover of Karl Bartos “Kissing the Machine” from Esperanto ~ Elektric Music.
    Will be buying this new CD.
    Wish it would come out on vinyl.

  5. Really like Dresden, Stay with Me, Metroland and NIght Cafe. Don’t even mind track 1 and 8 – it sounds about right in context and as interludes between songs.

    Thanks for sharing the link!

  6. Richard Rider

    This is, without question, the best synth album I’ve heard this year. This may very well be one of OMD’s best albums. Not a single ho-hum track on it. So nice to hear Paul Humphreys singing lead on a track. That was missing from their last album. I couldn’t be happier or more excited about this album. OMD are sticking to what they do best. THANK YOU, OMD! Can’t wait to see them next week. :)

  7. I pre-ordered the vinyl from Amazon some time ago, and I just got a notice saying it’s been delayed to May 30.

  8. Great album. Liking it better than the last one. Even the b-side to “Metroland” is great.

  9. What are they looking at? :)

  10. FX Cordero

    They are looking at the future. It is silent. ;)

  11. Listening to this right now and have the vinyl on order. The words “return to form” are massively overused but compared to the last album History of Modern this really warrants the term. Great melodies and authentic synth sounds. Paul’s increased involvement on this album is clearly evident – and appreciated.

  12. SOOOOOO much better than History Of Modern, which came off as a second-rate Pacific Age. There were a couple of decent songs on that album, but I was not crazy about the whole LP. I do love the experimental edge, retro-synths, A&M-era melodies on EE. If there’s any criticism, it’s minute, but some of the elements are almost self-plagiaristic of the Dazzle Ships tracks, regarding the vocal soundbytes/samples (but at the same time, a welcome familiarity), and they get very Kraftwerkian on this album. Andy sounds really great on vocals, and there are some very well- structured songs on this album. It sounds like a collection of songs that they really put some work into. Helen Of Troy is classic OMD. I’m very happy with the new album!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *