Digital Music, Single News — August 5, 2013 at 7:00 am

Premiere: OMD, ‘Night Café’ (Vile Electrodes ‘B-Side the C-Side’ Remix)

OMD, 'Night Cafe'

With drummer Malcolm Holmes’ onstage health scare now (thankfully) behind the band, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark is moving forward with promotion of its new album English Electric — namely the release of the LP’s third single, “Night Café,” which is due out next month as a limited-edition CD and digital download on 100% Records.

The 10-track expanded single includes the album’s five B-sides and four new remixes of the title track — including synthpop group Vile Electrodes’ dark “B-Side the C-Side” remix, which we’re thrilled to premiere today on Slicing Up Eyeballs. You can stream the full track below.

According to OMD, the song “Night Café” is inspired by artist Edward Hopper, and Andy McCluskey refers to the titles of seven of the painters’ classic works in its lyrics.

McCluskey says:

“I was in New York for the first time in 20 years. I was feeling melancholy. It was -9 degrees, it was dark and I was on a street corner looking into an almost empty restaurant. How could I not be reminded of Edward Hopper’s paintings?”

The single is out Sept. 9 and can be pre-ordered on CD worldwide or digitally via iTunes in the U.K.

As for Holmes, OMD today posted a message on Facebook from the drummer, in which he acknowledged that his heart actually stopped during last month’s Toronto concert and thanked his bandmates and crew members for their quick actions, and the paramedics from the Toronto Fire Department for performing CPR and using a defibrillator “to bring me back to life.”



Tracklist: OMD, “Café” single

1. “Night Café”
2. “Kill Me”
3. “The Great White Silence”
4. “Time Burns”
5. “No Man’s Land”
6. “Frontline”
7. “Night Café” (Vile Electrodes ‘B-Side the C-Side’ Remix)
8. “Night Café” (Metroland’s Nighthawks Remix)
9. “Night Café” (Taoyoyo Remix)
10. “Night Café” (Sin Cos Tan Rmx)





One Comment

  1. What a great CD single that will make: 5 B-sides!. I hope it will be available w/out me having to purchase it exclusively online. The remix is nice, much darker than the original version. Both versions still sound SO quintessentially ’80s, it tickles me. Really, more music from (and inspired by) that great era needs to get more prominent on contemporary radio. Good job, OMD!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *