New Releases — September 15, 2014 at 12:01 am

New releases: Shellac, James, Ministry, Scruffy the Cat, New Model Army

Shellac CROP

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.



RELEASE: Dude Incredible
BACKSTORY: Steve Albini returns this week with fifth album from his post-Big Black/Rapeman group Shellac, a nine-track set that includes tracks such as “All the Surveyors,” “Mayor/Surveyor” and “Surveyor.”



RELEASE: La Petite Mort
BACKSTORY: More than three months after it’s U.K. release, the Manchester-bred rockers belatedly issue their latest studio album in the U.S. Tracks include “Frozen Britain,” “Moving On,” and “Bitter Virtue.” (Full details)



RELEASE: Twelve Inch Singles 1981-1984: Expanded Edition
BACKSTORY: Al Jourgensen and Co.’s collection of Wax Trax!-era singles is reissued and expanded with a second disc of bonus material, including the unreleased “Same Old Madness.” (Full details)


Scruffy the Cat Good GoodbyeScruffy the Cat

RELEASE: The Good Goodbye: Unreleased Recordings 1984-1990
BACKSTORY: Omnivore Recordings this week releases a 23-track collection that, aside from one song issued in 1989, is entirely unreleased. The music spans “the band’s origin to their final, unissued sessions.” (Full details)


New Model ArmyNew Model Army

RELEASE: Between Wine and Blood
BACKSTORY: The U.K. post-punk act follows up last year’s Between Dog and Wolf with a new collection that combines a mini album of six new studio tracks and an 11-song live album. Out in the U.S. this week.





  1. New Shellac? I’m in.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *