Simple Minds

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.


Simple MindsSimple Minds

RELEASE: Sparkle In the Rain
BACKSTORY: Jim Kerr and Co.’s sixth album is reissued this week in a five-disc box set featuring B-sides, remixes, BBC sessions, a previously unreleased concert and a 5.1 Surround mix of the album. (Tracklist)



RELEASE: Without Real String or Fish
BACKSTORY: Shriekback returns with its first new album in five years, and 13th overall. The 12-track set features “Now Those Days are Gone,” “Soft Estate,” “Recessive Jean,” “Horrors of the Deep” and more.


Game Theory, Real NighttimeGame Theory

RELEASE: Real Nighttime
BACKSTORY: The Scott Miller-fronted college-rock favorites’ 1985 sophomore album is reissued this week, supplementing the original record with 13 bonus tracks, 10 of which have never before been released.


Alien Sex FiendAlien Sex Fiend

RELEASE: Classic Albums and BBC Sessions Collection
BACKSTORY: This four-disc box set collects four of the goth-rockers’ albums, expanding each with B-sides, alternate mixes, live tracks and previously unreleased BBC session recordings.


Roxy Music 2Roxy Music

RELEASE: The Complete Studio Albums
BACKSTORY: All eight of Roxy Music’s albums are reissued on 180-gram vinyl and collected in this new box set. Includes download codes for each album on MP3. Due out in the U.S. later this month.


The RezillosThe Rezillos

BACKSTORY: The Scottish punk/New Wave act returns with its sophomore album, more than 36 years (!) after the band’s debut, Can’t Stand the Rezillos. Features “Groovy Room,” “Life’s a Bitch” and more.


The Monochrome SetThe Monochrome Set

RELEASE: Spaces Everywhere
BACKSTORY: The U.K. post-punk group this week releases its third new album since reuniting in 2011, a 10-song set featuring the songs “Fantasy Creatures,” “Rain Check” and “When I Get to Hollywood.”


Thirsteen O'ClockVarious Artists

RELEASE: Thirteen O’Clock: Volume 1
BACKSTORY: Post Punk New Wave Records releases a compilation of late-’70s/early-’80s post-punk featuring rare and unreleased cuts from Futurisk, Los Microwaves, B-Movie, Units, Ski Patrol and more.


The FarmThe Farm

RELEASE: The Complete Studio Recordings 1983-2004
BACKSTORY: The Farm this week releases a 7CD, 98-track box set that includes four studio albums, plus discs of non-album tracks and B-sides, BBC radio sessions recorded between 1983 and 1991, and remixes.





Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,