Box Sets — October 25, 2017 at 7:51 am

5-disc, 100-song ‘Revolutionary Spirit’ box set to map sounds of Liverpool 1976-1988

Cherry Red Records will follow up this year’s Manchester-centric box set with one that examines the legacy of Liverpool’s scene from 1976 to 1988, a 5-disc, 100-song collection that will feature music by Echo & The Bunnmen, The Teardrop Explodes, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, A Flock of Seagulls, The Wild Swans, Icicle Works, The La’s and more.

The box set — titled Revolutionary Spirit: The Sound of Liverpool 1976-1988 — is due out in January, and though a full tracklist won’t be revealed until next month, the Facebook page for the collection does include a disc-by-disc list of the featured artists, which you can peruse below.

The label promises the set will include “familiar names, key tracks, unreleased material, demos, rare and obscure releases, artist sleevenotes and unseen imagery.”

It follows this year’s release of the 7-disc Manchester North of England box set, which brought together songs from Joy Divison, New Order, The Stone Roses, Morrissey, The Fall and Oasis from 1977 to 1993.


Artists appearing on Revolutionary Spirit: The Sound of Liverpool 1976-1988

DISC 1 :1976-1980
Deaf School
Big In Japan
Echo And The Bunnymen
Ded Byrds
The Dance Party
The Teardrop Explodes
Lori And The Chameleons
Nightmares In Wax
Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark
Jaqui & Jeanette
Clive Langer And The Boxes
Glass Torpedoes
The Original Mirrors
The Moondogs
The Planets
The Chuddy Nuddies
Spitfire Boys
Geisha Girls

DISC 2: 1980-1981
Dalek I
A Flock Of Seagulls
Ellery Bop
The Nice Men
Freeze Frame
Attempted Moustache
Afraid Of Mice
Cook Da Books
Chinese Religion
Hambi And The Dance
Egypt For Now
Those Naughty Lumps
Modern Eon
A Formal Sigh
The Moderates

DISC 3: 1982-1983
The Wild Swans
China Crisis
Pink Industry
Passion Polka
Box Of Toys
The Bamboo Fringe
Steve Lindsey
Ex Post Facto
Chain Of Command
Ambrose Reynolds
Royal Family And The Poor
Will Sergeant
Shiny Two Shiny
Icicle Works
It’s Immaterial
Public Disgrace
Send No Flowers
The Room
The Balcony (Mk I)
The Turquoise Swimming Pools

DISC 4: 1983-1985
Frankie Goes To Hollywood
Mr Amir
Brenda And The Beach Balls
The Lotus Eaters
Dead Or Alive
Virgin Dance
Alternative Radio
The Cherry Boys
The Light
Pale Fountains
The Balcony (Mk II)
The High Five
The Press Gang
Western Promise
Old Ma Cuxsom and the Soapchoppers
The Rioutous Hues
Marshmallow Overcoat

DISC 5: 1986-1988
Jegsy Dodd And The Sons Of Harry Cross ‎
The La’s
Magic Carpets
Benny Profane
The Tempest
The Onset
The Tractors
Cyclic Amp
The DaVincis
The Walking Seeds
Ministry Of Love
A Game Of Soldiers
Exhibit B
Thomas Lang
Revolutionary Army Of The Infant Jesus



  1. Michael Bawden

    No Dead Men’s Suits? Not so revolutionary!

  2. Looks fine but where were Wah!?

  3. Gary Hughes

    Where can I get this awsome set

  4. I want this asap

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *