Album News, Digital Music, Tracklist — January 20, 2018 at 4:48 pm

Poster Children return with 1st new album in 14 years — hear title track ‘Grand Bargain!’

Indie-rockers Poster Children — the pride of Champaign, Ill. — will release their first new album in 14 years this May, an 11-song set called Grand Bargain! that’s preceded by the politically charged title track, released this weekend to coincide with the first anniversary of the Trump presidency.

The Steve Albini-engineered album, the band’s first since 2004’s No More Songs About Sleep and Fire and ninth overall, will be released May 18, and is available for pre-order now via PledgeMusic.

The song “Grand Bargain!,” which you can stream below, opens with the lyric:

America held hostage day one
A lot of folks woke up without power this morning
It’s every man for himself
And every woman at 70% of the going rate

Poster Children was formed in the late ’80s at the University of Illinois at Champaign-Urbana by Rick Valentin and Rose Marshack, and made its first mark with 1989 debut Flower Power. Its second album, Daisychain Reaction, got the band signed to Sire Records. The group would put out three more major-label LPs during the ’90s before going indie again into the 2000s.

Below, check out the full tracklist for the new album, and hear the first single.



Tracklist: Poster Children, Grand Bargain!

1. “Grand Bargain!”
2. “Hippie Hills”
3. “Lucky Ones”
4. “World’s Insane”
5. “Devil and the Gun”
6. “Better than Nothing”
7. “Brand New Country”
8. “Better Place”
9. “Final Offense”
10. “Big Surprise”
11. “Safe Tonight”




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *