New Releases — February 18, 2019 at 6:01 am

New releases: Paisley Underground all-stars, plus ‘Lost 80s,’ X, U2, Wire Train, Josef K

The Three O’Clock’s Michael Quercio and Danny Benair with Debbi and Vicki Peterson of The Bangles

This is a round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs. All releases due out this Friday unless noted. Since we missed last week’s round-up, a few that just came out last Friday, too.


The Bangles, The Three O’Clock, The Dream Syndicate, Rain Parade

BACKSTORY: Last year’s Black Friday special gets a full multi-format release this week, with the Paisley Underground veterans covering each other.


Various Artists

RELEASE: Gary Crowley’s Lost 80s
BACKSTORY: The British radio host follows up his 2017 punk and new wave box set with this multi-disc set — out this week on CD and vinyl — that includes acts such as Aztec Camera, Depeche Mode, Tom Tom Club and more.



RELEASE: Los Angeles
BACKSTORY: Fat Possum Records this week kicks off its new CD and vinyl reissue series of X’s classic albums, beginning with the band’s 1980 debut Los Angeles. Newly remastered. Features “Johnny Hit and Run Paulene.”



RELEASE: No Line on the Horizon
BACKSTORY: U2’s 2009 album is reissued on “ultra-clear” vinyl for its 10th anniversary. The 2LP set is remastered, with two bonus remixes of “Magnificent” and “I’ll Go Crazy if I Don’t Go Crazy Tonight” on Side D.


Wire Train

RELEASE: In a Chamber
BACKSTORY: The 1983 debut album by the San Francisco new-wave rockers will be reissued on CD this week, expanded with six bonus tracks including B-sides, remixes and a cover of Neil Young’s “Mr. Soul.”


Josef K

RELEASE: Sorry for Laughing
BACKSTORY: The Scottish rockers’ 1980 debut, shelved after only a few copies were released, is reissued on clear vinyl with a bonus 12-track CD, The TV Art Demos, featuring all tracks from the band’s first recording sessions in 1979.


The Wedding Present

RELEASE: Marc Riley Sessions Volume 3
BACKSTORY: This is the third collection of recordings David Gedge and Co. made for the Marc Riley’s BBC show. Includes a cover of John Barry and Leslie Bricusse’s theme for the 1967 James Bond film “You Only Live Twice.”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *