After teasing big news for the past few days, The Psychedelic Furs have announced they’ll at long last release their eighth studio album — the band’s first record in 29 years — this spring. The 12-track collection is preceded by the single “Don’t Believe,” which you can hear below.

The album, titled Made of Rain, is produced by current Guns N’ Roses member Richard Fortus, who joined Furs principals Richard and Tim Butler in their mid-’90s band Love Spit Love. The new record is due out May 1 on Cooking Vinyl, and will be released on both CD and vinyl, and in digital formats.

It can be pre-ordered now via

The Furs, who have toured the U.S. extensively in recent years on the strength of their ’80s and early ’90s catalog, debuted the new album’s opening track, “The Boy That Invented Rock & Roll,” last summer in New York, at which time frontman Richard Butler announced the band had a new album coming out in 2020.

Made of Rain will be the Furs’ first new album in nearly three decades, since the 1991 release of World Outside, which spawned the modern-rock radio hit “Until She Comes.” And it’s long been in the works: Butler and his brother Tim, the band’s bassist, have been talking in interviews about recording a new Psychedelic Furs album for at least the last six years.

Below, check out the album’s first single — and the full tracklist.



The Psychedelic Furs, Made of Rain

1. “The Boy That Invented Rock & Roll”
2. “Don’t Believe”
3. “You’ll Be Mine”
4. “Wrong Train”
5. “This’ll Never Be Like Love”
6. “Ash Wednesday”
7. “Come All Ye Faithful”
8. “No-One”
9. “Tiny Hands”
10. “Hide The Medicine”
11. “Turn Your Back on Me”
12. “Stars”





Tags: , , , , , ,