Album News — April 4, 2020 at 4:39 pm

Release of Throwing Muses’ new album ‘Sun Racket’ delayed until September

Photo by Steve Gullick

Fire Records is delaying the release of the first new Throwing Muses album in seven years “given the situation in our industry” brought on by the coronavirus. The 10-song Sun Racket, the band’s 10th record overall, had been due out May 22 but now is scheduled to be released Sept. 4.

The band — singer/guitarist Kristin Hersh, drummer David Narcizo and bassist Bernard Georges — were in the studio last year when they played their first shows in five years, a handful of concerts and a slot handpicked by Robert Smith at The Cure’s Pasadena Daydream Festival outside the Rose Bowl.

In a news release announcing the new album, Hersh discuses the album’s sonic imprint:

“All it asked of us was to commingle two completely disparate sonic vocabularies: one heavy noise, the other delicate music box. Turns out we didn’t have to do much. ‘Sun Racket’ knew what it was doing and pushed us aside, which is always best. After 30 years of playing together, we trust each other implicitly but we trust the music more.”

Below, hear the first single “Dark Blue” and check out the full tracklist.



Throwing Muses, Sun Racket

1. “Dark Blue”
2. “Bywater”
3. “Maria Laguna”
4. “Bo Diddley Bridge”
5. “Milk At McDonald’s”
6. “Upstairs Dan”
7. “St. Charles”
8. “Frosting”
9. “Kay Catherine”
10. “Sue’s”




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *