Album News, Box Sets, Digital Music — January 24, 2012 at 7:57 am

Pixies’ Black Francis to release 2nd Grand Duchy album, Catholics live record, box set

The Pixies have yet to record a new album since reuniting in 2004, but frontman Black Francis has been no stranger to the recording studio in those intervening years, and, in April, will release his latest full-length album: Let the People Speak, his second effort with wife Violet Clark as the indie/electropop duo Grand Duchy.

Additionally, Francis is prepping a Frank Black & The Catholics live set recorded March 24, 2001, in The Netherlands. Due out March 20, Live at Melkweg was recorded on the Dog in the Sand tour, and while a tracklist has yet to be released, it covers the Catholics’ catalog and features versions of Pixies classics “Mr. Grieves,” “Monkey Gone to Heaven” and “Where Is My Mind?”

According to Francis’ website, the live disc is a prelude to a “definitive” Frank Black & The Catholics six-disc box set to be released “later this year.”

As for Grand Duchy, the duo’s 15-track sophomore album is due out April 10 Sonic Unyon/Cooking Vinyl Records, and is preceded by the track “Silver Boys,” which Rolling Stone premiered last week (stream it here or download a free MP3 directly from the link below).

In announcing the album, Clark says, “My motto for this record was, ‘If (Grand Duchy debut) Petits Fours was missionary, Let the People Speak needs to be doggy style.’” Adds Black Francis: “Let the People Speak has more confidence. For Violet, the confidence of finding one’s voice; for me, the confidence to become submissive. This record was definitely more about slamming it in.”

DOWNLOAD: Grand Duchy, ‘Silver Boys’ (via Rolling Stone)


Tracklist: Grand Duchy, Let the People Speak

1. “The Lopsided World of L”
2. “See-Thru You”
3. “White Out”
4. “Where is John Frum”
5. “Geode”
6. “Shady”
7. “Annie Bliss”
8. “Dark Sparkles and The Beat”
9. “Two Lies and One Truth”
10. “Silver Boys”
11. “Illiterate Lovers”
12. “Face”
13. “Esther”
14. “ROTC”
15. “Let the People Speak”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *