New Releases — May 21, 2012 at 5:57 am

New releases: Ian McCulloch, The Cult, Dave Gahan, Joey Ramone, Hoodoo Gurus

Record Rack: A round-up of the week’s new albums, expanded reissues and/or box sets, appearing each Monday on Slicing Up Eyeballs.


ARTIST : Ian McCulloch
RELEASE: Pro Patria Mori
 The Echo & The Bunnymen frontman has released his fourth overall solo album and first in nine years, a 10-track collection funded by fans through the Pledge Music platform. The album is available in digital, CD and vinyl formats, and includes the tracks “Different Trees,” “Lift Me Up” and “Somewhere in My Dreams.”
BUY: (CD, vinyl, digital)


ARTIST : The Cult 
 Choice of Weapon
 After swearing off albums in favor of multi-song “capsules” over the past few years, The Cult roars back into action this week with a brand-new, 10-track album co-produced by Sonic Temple veteran Bob Rock. The set includes first single “For the Animals,” plus “Lucifer” and “A Pale Horse” (see tracklist here).
BUY: (CD, vinyl, digital)


ARTIST : Soulsavers
RELEASE: The Light the Dead See
 For their fourth album, due out this week, the electronic project Soulsavers enlisted Depeche Mode frontman Dave Gahan to handle lead vocals.  As Gahan notes, the project wasn’t originally intended to be a full-album collaboration, but, “It was too good, it was too important” (Stream the full album here).
BUY: (CD, digital)


ARTIST : Joey Ramone
RELEASE: …Ya Know?
BACKSTORY: This week sees the release of the second solo album from the punk giant, a posthumous set featuring 15 tracks  “drawn from a cache of demos and unreleased recordings that Joey had cut at various times during the last decade and a half of his life.” The album features Joan Jett and Little Steven Van Zandt (see tracklist here). 
BUY: (CD, vinyl, digital)


ARTIST : Hoodoo Gurus
RELEASE: Gold Watch: 20 Golden Greats
BACKSTORY: The new best-of released by the Aussie rockers in their home country this past March arrives on American shores this week. The set opens with a brand-new single (“Use-By Date”), then proceeds through the band’s debut single (1982′s “Leilani”) and tracks off each of the group’s records, through 2010′s Purity of Essence.
BUY: (CDDigital)




Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *