Anniversary, Box Sets, Reissues — August 11, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Peter Gabriel’s 25th anniversary ‘So’ reissue to include 8-disc ‘Immersion’ box set

Back in May, we brought you initial news of Peter Gabriel’s plans for a multi-format, belated 25th anniversary reissue of his classic 1986 record So — and now comes word that, as part of that reissue, the album will be the subject of an 8-disc “Immersion” box set featuring four CDs, two DVDs, two vinyl records and a 60-page book.

Gabriel has yet to announce tracklists or specific details of any of the So formats — looks like that may be happening next week — but, as SuperDeluxeEdition notes, a is now a listing a $147 So: 25th Anniversary Immersion Box similar to the comprehensive Pink Floyd “Immersion” sets issued in recent years. The voluminous So box set promises at least two previously unreleased songs plus what appears to be a disc full of demos.

According to Amazon, the set — due out Oct. 23 — will include:

  • Remastered So album on CD.
  • So DNA CD, which “gives a unique insight into the writing and recording of So, experienced via a track-by-track evolutionary process leading you from the early moments when rhythms, melodies and lyrical ideas were discovered through the various stages of song development and recording.”
  • “Live in Athens 1987” on DVD, directed by Michael Chapman and executive produced by Scorsese. According to Amazon, “This was the first filmed Peter Gabriel concert, now fully restored and pieced together from over 150 reels of original 35mm negatives and remixed in 5.1, this concert is made available for the first time on DVD.”
  • “So: Classic Albums” documentary on DVD. The latest in the “Classic Albums” series “features contributions from many of those involved in the album and videos, with interviews with Peter Gabriel, co-producer Daniel Lanois and many more.”
  • So on 180-gram audiophile vinyl “mastered at half speed to maximize the audio quality and the track listing, unlike the original, is that favoured by the artist.”
  • Double A-side 12-inch vinyl single featuring two previously unreleased tracks, “Courage” and “Sagrada,” plus an alternative piano mix of “Don’t Give Up.”
  • 60-page book including an introduction and So DNA summary by Gabriel, new liner notes and an extensive collection of rare and never-before-seen photographs.


Amazon also shows single-disc and 3CD editions of the So reissue due out Oct. 23 — a delay from the originally announced Sept. 18 release date — as well as a standalone release of “So: Classic Albums” documentary on both DVD and Blu-ray, with those still slated for a Sept. 18 release.






  1. I’ve been waiting for this reissue for at least a decade. This is a keeper. I’m for the most part pleased with the overall content, but I hope this isnt the final track listing.

    I especially dig the ‘PoV’ Live in Athens gig finally being made available as a 2CD live album and as a DVD. The ‘So DNA’ CD should be a great listen. Sadly, I’m continually disappointed with artists and these ‘MEGA’ boxsets, going to such lengths of loads of quantity, yet they seem to always come up incomplete for the die-hard fan.

    I was hoping Mr. Gabriel would finally compile all of the odds and ends mixes and b-sides on CD from the single-heavy era of 1986-87. Unfortunately, it looks as if they’ve missed this (probably final) opportunity to include a comprehensive disc that many of us PG fans have been waiting years for.

    Missing in Action…!?

    Remastered “So” Single Versions, 12” Versions, B-sides and rarities
    1. Sledgehammer (7” Version) – 4:49
    2. Don’t Break This Rhythm – 3:50
    3. Sledgehammer (Extended Mix) – 5:40
    4. I Have The Touch (‘85 Remix) – 3:43
    5. Sledgehammer (Extended Dance Remix) – 7:20
    6. Don’t Give Up (Edit 2) – 5:55
    7. Curtains – 3:28
    8. In Your Eyes (Single Version) – 4:53
    9. No Self Control – 3:54
    10. In Your Eyes (Special Mix) – 7:15
    11. Across The River – 7:12
    12. In Your Eyes (12” Special Mix) – 8:55
    13. GaGa (I Go Swimming Instrumental) – 4:35
    14. Biko (edit 2) – 6:55
    15. No More Apartheid – 7:07

    Lastly, how about throwing all of the ‘So’ videos onto one of the DVDs as they should have a home on this collection.

    The “So” Videos
    1. “Sledgehammer” (Directed by Stephen R. Johnson)
    2. “Mercy Street” (Directed by Matt Mahurin)
    3. “Don’t Give Up” (version 1) (Directed by Lol Creme, Kevin Godley)
    4. “Don’t Give Up” (version 2) (Directed by Jim Blashfield)
    5. “In Your Eyes” (Directed by Graham Dean, Peter Gabriel)
    6. “Red Rain” (Directed by Matt Mahurin)
    7. “Big Time” (Directed by Stephen R. Johnson)
    8. “Biko” (Directed by Lol Creme)

    Oh well… Mr. Gabriel’s small shortsighted-ness in this product release is still 1,000% more visionary than most artists’ best days!

  2. The lack of b-sides and remixes is a travesty. If you buy the big box, you’re buying “So” twice (on LP and CD) and “PoV” twice (on DVD and 2CD). No way.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *