Box Sets, Reissues, Vinyl — November 12, 2012 at 9:50 am

‘A Box of Sugar’ collects full recordings of Bob Mould’s post-Hüsker Dü act on vinyl

It’s been a big year for fans of Bob Mould’s post-Hüsker Dü act Sugar, with competing — and slightly different — sets of CD reissues out in the U.S. and U.K., plus live performances of Copper Blue around the world. Now, the U.K.’s Demon Music Group is compiling the band’s complete recordings in an 8-record audiophile vinyl set.

Due out Dec. 10 in the U.K., the A Box of Sugar collection includes:

  • First-ever vinyl release of B-sides collection Besides (1995) on 2LP set, featuring inclusion of band’s 1992 BBC radio session and slightly different tracklist than CD release
  • Replica 7-inch single of “Helpless”/”Changes”
  • 20-page, 12-inch-by-12-inch book with photos, memorabilia and interviews
  • All recordings remastered for vinyl from original tapes by FU:EL engineer Jim Wilson

Check out the full tracklists below:


Tracklist: Sugar, A Box of Sugar

Disc 1: Copper Blue LP
1. “The Act We Act”
2. “A Good Idea”
3. “Changes”
4. “Helpless”
5. “Hoover Dam”
6. “The Slim”
7. “If I Can’t Change Your Mind”
8. “Fortune Teller”
9. “Slick”
10. “Man on the Moon”

Disc 2: Beaster EP
1. “Come Around”
2. “Tilted”
3. “Judas Cradle”
4. “JC Auto”
5. “Feeling Better”
6. “Walking Away”

Disc 3: File Under: Easy Listening LP
1. “Gift”
2. “Company Book”
3. “Your Favorite Thing”
4. “What You Want It To Be”
5. “Gee Angel”
6. “Panama City Motel”
7. “Can’t Help You Anymore”
8. “Granny Cool”
9. “Believe What You’re Saying”
10. “Explode And Make Up”

Discs 4+5: Besides double LP
1. “If I Can’t Change Your Mind” (Solo Mix)
2. “Try Again”
3. “Where Diamonds Are Halos”
4. “Armenia City In The Sky”
5. “Clownmaster”
6. “Anyone”
7. “JC Auto”
8. “Believe What You re Saying” (Campfire Mix)
9. “Mind Is An Island”
10. “Frustration”
11. “Going Home”
12. “In The Eyes Of My Friends”
13. “And You Tell Me”
14. “If I Can’t Change Your Mind” (BBC Radio Session)
15. “Hoover Dam” (BBC Radio Session)
16. “The Slim” (BBC Radio Session)
17. “Where Diamonds Are Halos” (BBC Radio Session)

Discs 6+7: The Joke Is Always On Us, Sometimes double live LP
1. “Gift”
2. “Company Book”
3. “Hoover Dam”
4. “After All The Roads Have Led To Nowhere”
5. “Where Diamonds Are Halos”
6. “Slick”
7. “Going Home”
8. “Running Out Of Time”
9. “Frustration”
10. “Changes”
11. “Can’t Help You Any More”
12. “Helpless”
13. “If I Can’t Change Your Mind”
14. “In The Eyes Of My Friends”
15. “Clownmaster”
16. “Gee Angel”
17. “Explode And Make Up”
18. “The Slim”

Disc 8: 7-inch single
“Helpless” b/w “Changes”





Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *