Album News, Tour Dates, Tracklist — March 16, 2019 at 3:19 pm

The Waterboys return with new album ‘Where the Action Is’ — stream the first single

Photo by Xavier Mercade

Mike Scott returns with a new album by The Waterboys this May, a 10-song collection entitled Where the Action Is — the title is inspired by the chorus to Robert Parker’s northern soul classic “Let’s Go Baby” — that follows up the band’s hip-hop inspired double album Out Of All This Blue

The album’s first single, “Right Side Of Heartbreak (Wrong Side Of Love),” can be streamed below.

The album is due out May 24 on Cooking Vinyl Records, and can be pre-ordered now. It will be released digitally, on black- and marble-colored vinyl, and as single and double disc sets; the limited edition 2CD set will include a second disc called Where the Action Is — Mashed with alternate versions and mixes.

Scott will mark the album’s release by taking The Waterboys out on tour in the U.K. and Spain.

Below, check out the album’s tracklist, cover art and first single — plus those tour dates.


The Waterboys, Where the Action Is

1. “Where the Action Is”
2. “London Mick”
3. “Out Of All This Blue”
4. “Right Side Of Heartbreak (Wrong Side Of Love)”
5. “In My Time On Earth”
6. “Ladbroke Grove Symphony”
7. “Take Me There I Will Follow You”
8. “And There’s Love”
9. “Then She Made The Lasses-O”
10. “Piper At The Gates Of Dawn”

Bonus disc in limited-edition 2CD set:
Where the Action Is — Mashed
1. “Where The Action Is” (Mash)
2. “London Mick” (Jess’n’Zeenie Mix)
3. “Out Of All This Blue” (Soul Choir)
4. “Right Side Of Heartbreak” (Box & Vox)
5. “In My Time On Earth” (Scott & Wickham Mix)
6. “Ladbroke Grove Coda”
7. “I Will Follow You Take Me There”
8. “And There’s Love” (Mashtrumental)
9. “Then She Made The Lasses” (Mash)
10. “Where The Action Is” (Reprise)
11. “Piper At The Gates Of Dawn” (Instrumental)



The Waterboys tour dates

May 19: Millenium Forum, Derry, UK
May 20: Ulster Hall, Belfast, UK
May 22: The Forum, Bath, UK
May 23: The Hay Festival, Hay-on-Wye, UK
May 24:- Roundhouse, London, UK
May 25:– Symphony Hall, Birmingham, UK
May 27: Philharmonic Hall, Liverpool, UK
May 28: Bridgewater Hall, Manchester, UK
May 29: Sage, Gateshead, UK
June 27: Auditori de Burjassot, Valencia, Spain
June 29: Plataforma de Gredos, Avila, Spain
June 30: Noches Del Botanico, Madrid, Spain
Aug. 8: Cropredy Festival, Oxford, UK
Sept. 5: Skye Live Festival, Isle of Skye, UK
Sept. 6: Aberdeen Music Hall, Aberdeen, UK
Sept. 7: Glasgow Barrowland, Glasgow, UK





  1. Mike, better to avoid love relationships altogether rather than experience heartbreak over and over. And actually escaping “the futile search” for love for and from anoer individual… or “someone” and seek love in ones self for humanity is far wiser… that increases “LOVE”. If a “true love” comes, she comes if she doesn’t she doesnt.

  2. “This Is The Sea” and “Fisherman’s Blues” remain long time favorites from “back in the day.”

    I can remember, vividly, being in college and I was through with my morning classes at noon opting to wait out the long lunch line in the cafeteria by going back to my dorm, checking my mail, and the heading to my room and putting on an album to play front to back.

    By the time it was done, the lunch line was much shorter, I’d go for lunch, and then on the rest of the day. “This Is The Sea” was one of those albums.

    “Fisherman’s Blues” arrived shortly after graduation and is one of the iconic albums for me for my transition into Gen X adulthood. I have actually bought it several times. The first, back in the day, on vinyl in its original release (which I still have) later upgrading it to CD, then a duluxe CD version, and more recently the “Fisherman’s Box” set, although I guess that technically isn’t buying FB again in the strictest sense.

    Since FB The Waterboys albums have been kind of hit and miss for me, unfortunately more the later. But I like this track and will mostly likely be giving the full album a shot. Thanks for posting!

  3. Karen PAce

    I love hearing Mike’s voice on anything! This has a different feel than earlier, Celtic-grounded material. This is groovier. I like it!

  4. I love Mike’s voice,it is awesome

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *