Box Sets, Reissues — August 2, 2023 at 1:25 pm

The Replacements’ “Tim: Let It Bleed Edition” to feature new mix, unreleased tracks, 1986 live set

The Replacements

The Replacements’ 1985 album Tim — the band’s major-label debut, and the last record to feature guitarist Bob Stinson — will receive a 4CD/1LP reissue this fall that will feature a new mix of the record, a bevy of previously unreleased alternate takes and demos, and an unissued live set recorded in 1986.

Rhino Records will release the 65-track Tim: Let It Bleed Edition on Sept. 22, and it can be pre-ordered via Initial pre-orders through Rhino will include a 7-inch single of “Nowhere is My Home” with the previously unreleased “Cello Version” of “Can’t Hardly Wait” on the B-side.

The first two discs of the Let It Bleed Edition feature what’s being called the “definitive mix” of Tim by producer/engineer Ed Stasium — who was a close friend and partner of the album’s original producer, the late Tom Erdelyi, aka Tommy Ramone — and a new remastering of Erdelyi’s original mix.

Check out the new mix of “Left of the Dial” right here:



The third disc, titled Sons of No One: Rare & Unreleased, includes 15 tracks, 11 of which are previously unissued, including “unearthed material” from the band’s January 1985 recording session produced by Big Star’s Alex Chilton. The disc includes alternate takes of “Hold My Life,” “Can’t Hardly Wait” and “Bastards of Young,” plus what Rhino calls “a unique and previously unheard original” called “Havin Fun” that was written by Tommy Stinson and sung by Paul Westerberg.

The fourth disc, Not Ready for Prime Time, features a soundboard recording of a 28-song set recorded live at Chicago’s Cabaret Metro on Jan. 11, 1986 — a one-off date that fell about a week before the band’s appearance on “Saturday Night Live.” It includes performances of the ‘Mats favorites, some deep cuts and a rare lead vocal from the late Stinson on a cover of “The Crusher,” by Minnesota garage rockers The Novas.

And, finally, the box set includes an 180-gram vinyl pressing of the new Stasium mix of Tim.

The box set is packaged in a 12×12 hardcover book, according to Rhino, that includes previously unseen photos and liner notes written by Replacements biographer Bob Mehr. The new cover art is based on a 1985 photo of the band members in their Minneapolis rehearsal space taken by Moshe Brakha.

To date, Rhino has released expanded multi-disc box sets for 1989’s Don’t Tell a Soul (under the name Dead Man’s Pop), 1987’s Pleased To Meet Me and 1981’s Sorry Ma, Forgot to Take Out the Trash, in 2019, 2020 and 2021, respectively. Each features copious amounts of unreleased tracks, demos and live material

Below, check out the tracklist:



The Replacements, Tim: Let It Bleed Edition

CD 1: Tim (Ed Stasium Mix)
1. “Hold My Life”
2. “I’ll Buy”
3. “Kiss Me on the Bus”
4. “Dose of Thunder”
5. “Waitress in the Sky”
6. “Swingin Party”
7. “Bastards of Young”
8. “Lay It Down Clown”
9. “Left of the Dial”
10. “Little Mascara”
11. “Here Comes a Regular”

CD 2: Tim (2023 Remaster)
1. “Hold My Life”
2. “I’ll Buy”
3. “Kiss Me on the Bus”
4. “Dose of Thunder”
5. “Waitress in the Sky”
6. “Swingin Party”
7. “Bastards of Young”
8. “Lay It Down Clown”
9. “Left of the Dial”
10. “Little Mascara”
11. “Here Comes a Regular”

CD 3: Sons of No One: Rare & Unreleased
1. “Can’t Hardly Wait” (Acoustic Demo)
2. “Nowhere Is My Home” (Alternate Mix) *
3. “Can’t Hardly Wait” (Electric Demo) [Alternate Mix] *
4. “Left of the Dial” (Alternate Version) *
5. “Nowhere Is My Home” (Alternate Version) *
6. “Can’t Hardly Wait” (Cello Version) *
7. “Kiss Me on the Bus” (Studio Demo)
8. “Little Mascara” (Studio Demo) *
9. “Bastards of Young” (Alternate Version) *
10. “Hold My Life” (Alternate Version) *
11. “Having Fun” *
12. “Waitress in the Sky” (Alternate Version)
13. “Can’t Hardly Wait” (The “Tim” Version) [Alternate Mix] *
14. “Swingin Party” (Alternate Version) *
15. “Here Comes a Regular” (Alternate Version)

CD 4: Not Ready for Prime Time
Live at the Cabaret Metro, Chicago, IL — Jan. 11, 1986
1. “Gary’s Got a Boner” *
2. “Love You ‘Till Friday” *
3. “Bastards of Young” *
4. “Can’t Hardly Wait” *
5. “Answering Machine” *
6. “Little Mascara” *
7. “Color Me Impressed” *
8. “Kiss Me on the Bus” *
9. “Favorite Thing” *
10. “Mr. Whirly” *
11. “Tommy Gets His Tonsils Out” *
12. “I Will Dare” *
13. “Johnny’s Gonna Die” *
14. “Dose of Thunder” *
15. “Takin’ a Ride” *
16. “Hitchin’ a Ride” *
17. “Trouble Boys” *
18. “Unsatisfied” *
19. “Black Diamond” *
20. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash” *
21. “Customer” *
22. “Borstal Breakout” *
23. “Take Me Down to the Hospital” *
24. “Kids Don’t Follow” *
25. “Nowhere Man” *
26. “The Crusher” *
27. “I’m in Trouble” *
28. “Go” *

* Previously unreleased


LP: Ed Stasium Mix

Side A
1. “Hold My Life”
2. “I’ll Buy”
3. “Kiss Me on the Bus”
4. “Dose of Thunder”
5. “Waitress in the Sky”
6. “Swingin Party”

Side B
1. “Bastards Of Young”
2. “Lay It Down Clown”
3. “Left of the Dial”
4. “Little Mascara”
5. “Here Comes a Regular”






  1. When I first heard Tim, my initial thought was, “Who mixed this? This album would be a rock & roll masterpiece if they turned off all the reverb on everything. The drums sound like they were recorded inside an ice rink.” Today, I found out that my wish is coming true! We will finally hear this amazing Mats record in a way that shines a light on its untapped potential.

  2. These reissue have been fantastic. Dead Man’s Pop improved the songs of Don’t Tell A Soul. Fingers crossed The Sh*t Hits the Fans eventually finds its way back out.

    • Jazzmaster

      Rhino has stated that WTSHTF is not in the cards. The band are strongly opposed to its reissue and obtaining the rights to so many cover songs would be nearly impossible. Bootlegs are readily available though.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *