Anniversary, Reissues, Video — July 13, 2012 at 7:49 am

INXS’ ‘Kick’ to receive expanded 3CD/1DVD 25th anniversary reissue with ‘unheard tracks’

INXS’ 1987 album Kick sold 6 million copies and spawned four Top 10 singles in the U.S., turning the Aussie rockers into global superstars. Now, 25 years later, the band this fall will release an expanded edition of the album featuring three CDs and a DVD packed with remixes, demos, “unheard tracks,” a documentary and home video footage.

The band — which last year enlisted new lead singer Ciaran Gribbin — has not officially announced the 25th anniversary reissue, but it is beginning to appear on U.K. music retailers’ websites with a Sept. 17 release date via Mercury Records.

The tracklist hasn’t yet been unveiled, but, according to the reissue’s packaging, the set will include the original album on one CD plus two more CDs filled with “remixes, demos, unheard tracks.” The DVD will include a new documentary on the album, plus previously unseen home video footage and promos. Finally, the set also will include a hardback book called “The Story of Kick,” a poster and a sticker sheet.

This fall’s reissue won’t be the first for Kick. In 2002, the album was reissued in the U.S. with four previously unreleased bonus tracks. Two years later, it was given a two-disc Deluxe Edition reissue in the U.K., with a dozen bonus tracks featured on the second disc.

UPDATE 7/18/12: INXS has announced the reissue on its website, saying it will come in a 3CD/1DVD Super Deluxe Edition, a 2CD Deluxe Edition, two different download editions, and a limited-edition red-vinyl release. The Super Deluxe Edition will also include a 64-page “art book” with handwritten lyrics by the late Michael Hutchence, a Kick sticker sheet and an original tour poster. Tracklists also have started popping up on on online retailers’ sites:


Tracklist: INXS, Kick 25: Super Deluxe Edition

CD 1: Original Album
1. “Guns In The Sky”
2. “New Sensation”
3. “Devil Inside”
4. “Need You Tonight”
5. “Mediate”
6. “The Loved One”
7. “Wildlife”
8. “Never Tear Us Apart”
9. “Mystify”
10. “Kick”
11. “Calling All Nations”
12. “Tiny Daggers”

CD 2
1. “Move On” (Guitar Version)
2. “I’m Coming (Home)”
3. “Mediate” (Live From America)
4. “Never Tear Us Apart” (Live From America)
5. “Kick” (Live From America)
6. “On The Rocks”
7. “Do Wot You Do” (B-Side of “New Sensation”)
8. “Mystify” (Chicago Demo)
9. “Jesus Was A Man” (Demo)
10. “The Trap” (Demo)
11. “Guns In The Sky” (Kick Ass Remix)
12. “Need You Tonight” (Mendelson Extended Mix)
13. “Move On”

CD 3
1. “Never Tear Us Apart” (Soul Version)
2. “New Sensation” (Nick 12-inch Mix)
3. “New Sensation” (Nick 7-inch Mix)
4. “Devil Inside” (Extended Remix)
5. “Devil Inside” (7-inch)
6. “Different World” (7-inch)
7. “Calling All Nations” (Kids On Bridges Remix)

Documentary: Track Baby Track Documentary
INXS KICK World Tour: Exclusive Band Footage [Through Our Eyes Only]
“Guns in the Sky”
“Need You Tonight”


VIDEO: Preview of INXS Kick 25 DVD






  1. Brilliant album, great band. RIP Hutch.

  2. On a side note, can anyone confirm that Robert Smith dedicated the Bloodflowers album to Michael Hutchence, as it came out a couple of years after his death? This is something i read a while back and i took it with a grain of salt, Smith hated INXS in the 80s and early 90s, even slagged off Hutch a few times in the NME.

  3. Oh my. As much as I’ll celebrate the fact that this terrific album is being celebrated, by looking at the UK 2cd, and the 2002 US Rhino reissue… there are really only Two new songs included here (Nile Rodgers mix of “Calling All Stations” and the Austrailian 12″ of “New Sensation” – whatever that might be. “Do Wot You Do” is a period piece from the PRETTY IN PINK soundtrack, it was included on some of the “New Sensation” CD single and 12″ releases…. yikes. Guess I’ll spend $$$ for a book, a dvd of home videos (think about that – would you buy anyone else’s home videos?) …. sigh. I LOVE INXS. more and more as time goes on, but I was hoping for more insight into the album – where’s the CLASSIC ALBUMS dvd on KICK!!!???

  4. kickup80s

    Great album (although “Kick” is my personal favourite”) but feel that this is a re-release so far. I bought the expanded US edition, and the 2CD Deluxe Edition a couple of years later so I’ll give this one a miss and download the couple of missing tracks.

    Surely all of those tracks would fit on 2CD’s???

  5. kickup80s

    Correction… “Listen Like Thieves” is my personal fave…d’oh

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *