Box Sets, Tracklist — June 11, 2018 at 11:35 am

Peter Murphy’s first 5 albums to be complied in appropriately named ‘5 Albums’ box set

Beggars Arkive this month resurrects its 5 Albums box set series with a new Peter Murphy title that collects his first five solo albums — 1986’s Should the World Fail to Fall Apart, 1988’s Love Hysteria, 1989’s Deep, 1992’s Holy Smoke and 1995’s Cascade — along with bonus tracks.

The 5 Albums series previously compiled records by Love and Rockets, Gary Numan, Bauhaus, Fields of the Nephilm and more.  The new Peter Murphy set comes in a hardcover book — rather than the smaller CD-sized boxes used in the past — and each album is fleshed out with period rarities, including original demos, single B-sides, early and alternate mixes. It’s due out June 22.

The release comes as Murphy prepares to play his twice-rescheduled San Francisco residency, including dates with former Bauhaus bandmate David J.

Check out the full tracklist for the 5 Albums box set below.


Tracklist: Peter Murphy, 5 Albums box set

Disc 1: Should the World Fail to Fall Apart
1. Canvas Beauty (Romance Version)
2. The Light Pours Out Of Me
3. Confessions
4. Should The World Fail To Fall Apart
5. Never Man
6. God Sends
7. Blue Heart
8. The Answer Is Clear
9. Final Solution
10. Jemal
Bonus tracks
11. Canvas Beauty (Up Version)
12. Should The World Fail To Fall Apart (Version 3)
13. Stay
14. Final Solution (Club Mix)
15. Tale Of The Tongue (Extended version)

Disc 2: Love Hysteria
1. All Night Long
2. His Circle And Hers Meet
3. Dragnet Drag
4. Socrates The Python
5. Indigo Eyes
6. Time Has Got Nothing To Do With It
7. Blind Sublime
8. My Last Two Weeks
9. Fun Time
Bonus tracks
10. Tale Of The Tongue (Single Edit)
11. I’ve Got A Miniature Secret Camera
12. Critic’s Choice (previously unreleased demo)
13. All Night Long (U.S.A. Edit)
14. Socrates The Python (Demo)
15. Fun Time (Cabaret Mix) (Demo)

Disc 3: Deep
1. Deep Ocean Vast Sea
2. Shy
3. Crystal Wrists
4. Marlene Dietrich’s Favourite Poem
5. Seven Veils
6. The Line Between The Devil’s Teeth (And That Which Cannot Be Repeat)
7. Cuts You Up
8. A Strange Kind Of Love (Version One)
9. Roll Call
Bonus tracks
10. Roll Call (Reprise)
11. A Strange Kind Of Love (Version Two)
12. The Line Between The Devil’s Teeth (And That Which Cannot Be Repeat) (12” Remix)
13. Cuts You Up (U.S.A. Alternate Edit)
14. A Strange Kind Of Love (Remix Edit Version)
15. Deep Ocean Vast Sea (Instrumental)

Disc 4: Holy Smoke
1. Keep Me From Harm
2. Kill The Hate
3. You’re So Close
4. The Sweetest Drop
5. Low Room
6. Let Me Love You
7. Our Secret Garden
8. Dream Gone By
9. Hit Song
10. Volga Boatmen (Outro)
Bonus tracks
11. The Sweetest Drop (Rave Edit)
12. Cool Cool Breeze
13. You’re So Close (Radio Edit)
14. The Sweetest Drop (Radio Edit #1)
15. Hit Song (Single Edit)
16. The Sweetest Drop (Rave 12” Mix)

Disc 5: Cascade
1. Mirror To My Woman’s Mind
2. Subway
3. Gliding Like A Whale
4. Disappearing
5. Mercy Rain
6. I’ll Fall with Your Knife
7. The Scarlet Thing In You
8. Sails Wave Goodbye
9. Wild Birds Flock to Me
10. Huuvola
11. Cascade
Bonus tracks
12. Wild Birds Flock To Me (Production Rough Mix)
13. Groovy Place (Demo)
14. Wish (Production Rough Mix)
15. Sail On White (Production Rough Mix)
16. Satin Nights (Cascade) (Production Rough Mix)




One Comment

  1. James Mielke

    I know this is LTTP, but I wonder if these albums were actually remastered, or if they’re just the same albums slapped onto new CDs. Same goes for the upcoming vinyl releases.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *